At the end of October 1959, the membership of the Council consisted of the seven States which administer trust territories (Australia, Belgium, France, Italy, New Zealand, United Kingdom and United States), and an equal number of non-administering States. Always included in the latter group are the two permanent members of the Security Council—the U.S.S.R. and China—which do not administer trust territories. The other five non-administering countries were Burma, Haiti, India, Paraguay and the United Arab Republic.

During its regular sessions the Council considered reports from the administering authorities for Tanganyika under United Kingdom administration, Ruanda-Urundi under Belgian administration, Somaliland under Italian administration, the Cameroons under United Kingdom administration, the Cameroons under French administration, Togoland under French administration, Western Samoa under New Zealand administration, New Guinea under Australian administration, and Nauru under combined Australian, New Zealand and United Kingdom administration. In addition to considering the political, economic, social and educational progress made in the territories, the Council discussed the attainment by the trust territories of the objective of self-government or independence. Special attention was paid to study and training facilities for the inhabitants of the territories, economic aid for Somaliland and the effects of the European Economic Community on the development of certain of the territories.

During the review period, United Nations travelling missions visited the trust territories in West Africa, the trust territory of Western Samoa, and the trust territories of Nauru, New Guinea and the Pacific Islands. The reports of these missions were also considered by the Council. The Council learned that in 1960 three trust territories would achieve their independence: the French Cameroons on Jan. 1, Togoland on Apr. 27, and Somaliland on July 1. Plebiscites under a United Nations Commissioner were agreed upon for the Northern Cameroons in November 1959, and for the Southern Cameroons in the spring of 1961, in order to ascertain the desires of the inhabitants of these territories with regard to their future status after Nigeria attains its independence in October 1960.

The Council's Committee on Petitions considered more than 12,000 communications from petitioners and the Council itself granted oral hearing to petitioners from various territories under its tutelage.

Canadian policy with regard to trust territories is based on the belief that careful and unprejudiced consideration should be given both to the aspirations and legitimate demands of the indigenous populations and to the responsibilities and legitimate rights of the administering authorities. In the Canadian view, it is the responsibility of the General Assembly to decide broad policy matters and of the Trusteeship Council to plan its work and decide on the most expeditious manner of fulfilling its detailed responsibilities under the international trusteeship system.

International Court of Justice.—To "adjust and settle international disputes in conformity with Justice and International Law" is one of the purposes of the United Nations and it was therefore essential to establish a judicial arm for the Organization. The Statute of the International Court of Justice is an integral part of the Charter of the United Nations. All members of the United Nations are *ipso facto* parties to the Statute of the Court. A State that is not a member of the United Nations may, nevertheless, become a party to the Statute of the Court on conditions to be determined in each case by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council. Thus, at the end of 1959, the total number of parties to the Statute was 85; 82 were members of the United Nations and three (Liechtenstein, San Marino and Switzerland) were nonmembers. The Court is composed of 15 judges who are elected in individual capacities. His Honour Judge John E. Read of Canada served on the Court from his election to the Court in 1946 until his retirement in 1958. No judge of Canadian nationality is serving on the Court at the present time.